Meet a Stranger: Chelsea Wallace

Standard

meet a stranger (1)

Chelsea is a writer! That’s exciting for a fellow writer/journalism student like me because she’s actually a success story. Through her blog you can get a taste of a writer’s life and how diverse it is. Chelsea always encourages discussions on her posts and writes with a positivity that I find inspiring, always finding the life lesson in everything whether it is about writing while depressed or how to tell people you’re (gasp) an English major. Her writing is honest and you can tell she writes to find herself while still managing to connect with others through her relatable posts. Give her a follow! I feel she’s going to have a great career.

Name: Chelsea Wallace

Who are you? Writer trying to navigate my first year post-grad, girl trying to think of herself as an “adult,” fan trying to survive the next seven months without “The Walking Dead.”

Three of your favorite things: Harry Potter, red beans and rice, and falling asleep during thunderstorms

What consumes your time? I work as an editorial assistant at a local lifestyle magazine, so anything from copyediting and research to prepping photo shoots and fetching mail. Lately, I’ve been able to do a lot of writing for upcoming issues, so I’m traveling around conducting interviews and brainstorming more story ideas so I can keep writing. Spare time consists of trying to stay in touch with my friends (the vast majority of whom live at least three hours away), editing my novels and trying to convince my boyfriend it’s time to adopt a dog.

If you had to choose your last meal, what would it be? All of the Raising Cane’s fried chicken I could stuff in my mouth. (I have celiac disease, meaning no gluten, which means no delicious tenders of fried amazingness for the last six years.)

What keeps you sane? My boyfriend and my job. In that order.

What’s your favorite memory? I have always been on the more reserved, quiet side. When I graduated high school (my all-girls, Catholic high school), I had my core group of friends but mostly assumed a lot of people had no idea who I was. As I watched all the other girls crossing the stage to cheers and hollers and clapping, I prepared myself for a small section from my family to cheer. But as they called my name and I walked across the platform, imagine my surprise as the noise from my classmates almost knocked me over. I heard people whistling and cheering and yelling, “You go, Chelsea!” That was the first time I realized I have much of an effect on anyone’s life at all, that just because I didn’t always interact directly with everyone every day, people knew who I was (at least vaguely) and appreciated me for who I was.

Do you have any idols or role models? Fictional: Luna Lovegood because of her willingness to be her genuine self, Buffy the vampire slayer for her inner strength and integrity, and Jane Eyre for always doing what’s right. Real: John Green because of his cheerful, philanthropic, encouraging nature; my writing professor from college for teaching me that criticism to my writing actually makes me better. It’s funny, I’ve never really thought about a lot of specific people I look up to: I appreciate loyalty, honesty, integrity, strength and logic, and when I see people in my life who exhibit any combination of these, I latch on and observe.

What’s on your bucket list? Taking a nice, long camping trip. And not, like, in an air-conditioned cabin in a campsite with a bunch of other campers who couldn’t beat the heat. I mean carrying everything on my back for weeks, finding my food and water in the wilderness, not seeing another human from beginning to end (except maybe my boyfriend, who’s a better hunter than I am). I mean not shaving, not organizing campsite activities: just existing. I want to get so tired I can’t move and get so deep in the woods that I can leave civilization behind for just a little bit and focus on what’s going on in my own head.

Your online homes: My blogs (chelseamwallace.wordpress.com and chelseamwrites.wordpress.com), my portfolio (chelseamwallace.com), my twitter (@cmw_writes), and my Instagram (@chelseasaysheyy).

A question from the previous featured blogger: Be honest. Are you truly happy with your life? If yes, why? If no, how can you change that? I’m at this weird point in my life where I look back to the person I was even just three years ago. I remember all the things that happened to her, what she thought and felt, but it doesn’t feel like something I went through. That Chelsea feels like she’s someone completely different, and not just in an “I’ve grown so much,” way, but a literal almost out-of-body-experience way. I would guess that three years from now, I’ll think the same thing of the person I am right now. I tend to always look to the future, no matter what point I’m standing in, which I think contributes to that feeling. Like I’m not truly experiencing what I’m going through, even though it feels like I am. Because I have so much in my life that makes me genuinely happy and content: a wonderful job doing exactly what I want to do, an amazing boyfriend (soon to be fiance) who understands me and likes me anyway, a beautiful home and great friends. And I love all of it. I am happy. I think I could be happier if I stopped thinking ahead, if instead of, “I have this great thing, now what’s next?” I thought, “Wow! I love this great thing I have, and I’m going to cherish it and relish it.”

A question you’d like to ask the next featured blogger: If you had unlimited resources (human support, finances, etc.), what non-profit would you create and why?

If you’d like to be featured, shoot me an email at erawrites@gmail.com.

I’d love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Meet a Stranger: Chelsea Wallace

  1. Pingback: Just a Quickie | Dust and Ink

  2. Pingback: A Note on a Friday | The Write Stuff

Leave a Comment

