Where have I been?

Standard
Photo by e.b.

Photo by e.b.

Whether or not anyone has noticed my absence on WordPress, I sure have missed being part of the community. I admire anyone who has a full life (whether that is a professional, academic or social one) and still finds time to blog on a regular basis! I envy applaud your passion and excellent time management 😛

I’ve been busy. Yeah, we all say that as an excuse for slacking. I’m in my final year of college and even though I’m only taking one class and one internship this semester I still somehow managed to find a few odd jobs to keep myself occupied.

I’m the social media manager of a local music festival. After attending last year’s MOVE Music Fest I wanted to volunteer for this year’s and instead found myself taking on their social media accounts and being more involved than I ever thought was possible. As a committee member and social media manager, I attend meetings and help make decisions on everything from headlining bands to ticket dates and new festival features.

A portion of the 100 bands. Photo from MOVE Music Fest Facebook page.

A portion of the 100 bands. Photo from MOVE Music Fest Facebook page.

Truthfully, I picked up a lot of useful social media tips from my internship with Global Yodel last summer. Social media management is exciting but still demanding work. I thought it was just fun and games but I’ve learned my lesson! The planning that goes behind all of it can be intense especially when the media team is very small.

Another note on Global Yodel. After I wrapped up my internship they offered me the chance to start a new feature on the site. Band interviews! I said hell yes because a) I’ve always wanted to get into interviewing bands and b) I really wanted to stay a part of Global Yodel since I loved it so much. So far I’ve interviewed two awesome bands and because Global Yodel’s philosophy is that locals know their cities better than any travel writer, getting the perspective of a city through the eyes of a band that lives in it is a fun spin on things. Take a look at my two interviews below!

A Guide to Brooklyn with Ra Ra Riot

A Guide to Cape Town with Beatenberg

So, I graduate in May. Some days that feels far off and other days the reality of it hits me harder than I’d like it to. The job hunt is stressful and it’s made me realize I need to pick up more skills. My first couple years of college were so writing and reporting focused while my last two were very oriented towards online media and social media, including blogging. I feel like I’ve lost touch with the writing side of me. It’s been ages since I’ve written a proper journalistic piece. While I don’t think I’ll ever be a reporter in the true sense of the word, I do still want to keep writing. I also need to get back into blogging. Brainstorming interesting blog topics is something that takes time though. But I’m working on it. If you read this far, thank you and leave me a comment saying hi!

See you around, folks.

7 thoughts on “Where have I been?

  1. HELLO, it’s been a while! I’ve missed seeing your posts on my “reader” (I’m very tempted to say “dashboard”, would that make me a traitor?)
    I was wondering where you were. I’m glad to see that you’ve spent your time away being productive and whatnot (and that you’re okay!). And it’s so cool that you’re interviewing bands! That’s just… Wow. Amazing!
    You’re probably the coolest person I’ve ever interacted with.
    And! Congrats on finishing university soon! That’s great. Hope the next step is greater!
    Can’t wait to read your next posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Also! I totally know what it’s like to fall behind on blogging because of “the outside world”. I’ve been telling myself for two weeks now to plant my butt on a chair and start writing about something. Anything! To just find a topic and start typing away, but I never did. I’m lazy like that. Bleh.
    Maybe seeing you post more often will motivate me to post more often?
    We’ll see.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi!! Thank you for your sweet comments! Yes, I’m okay 😛 I hope you get back into writing soon. I miss seeing your posts on my reader/dashboard/home feed as well! Are you on Tumblr? The word dashboard makes me think of Tumblr.

      Like

  3. So, I’ve been creeping on your blog, and I JUST REALIZED THAT I NEVER REPLIED TO YOU. (bAD, FARAH.)
    I do have a tumblr. It’s figureitout-nowheregirl.tumblr.com
    I don’t really post things there. I reblog a lot of things, but I don’t post. I have no clue why I don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just followed you! Yeah, I rarely post, too. It’s mostly for “collecting” a giant archive of beautiful/meaningful/funny photos and quotes.

      Like

Leave a Comment

