2014: A Year in Live Music

Standard

I saw some exceptionally excellent bands this year. I always feel lucky when my favorite musicians make a stop in Albany.

February 28 – Band of Horses @ The Egg

Hearing this band (and lead singer Ben Bridwell’s voice) live was an incredible experience. I’ve loved this band since my high school days. I was a bit hesitant to attend an acoustic show but it was great. They are talented through and through.

April 9 – Dirty Heads @ Upstate Concert Hall

April 26 – goodbyemotel, Magic Man, Titanics @ The Hollow

June 22 – Snowmine, Titanics @ The Low Beat

This show happened in a small bar with less than 30 people but it felt like a full house. My friend and I met the bands afterward and talked to some of the Snowmine members. These dudes were so chill and very, very friendly. Titanics is a personal favorite because they are a local band and actually amazingly good. And Snowmine just gave us everything they got. So glad they made a stop in Albany.

June 24 – Paramore, Fall Out Boy, New Politics @ SPAC

Man, they can draw a crowd. Paramore and Fall Out Boy put on such fun shows. I was singing and dancing the whole time.

July 8 – Grizfolk @ The Low Beat

It was so cool to finally hear them live after randomly discovering them a year ago on Noisetrade.

Grizfolk. Photo by Era B.

Grizfolk. Photo by Era B.

July 9 – Broods @ The Hollow

Gorgeous music, gorgeous people.

August 12 – Drake vs Lil Wayne @ SPAC

September 9 – twenty one pilots @ Upstate Concert Hall

twenty one pilots. Photo by Era B.

twenty one pilots. Photo by Era B.

twenty one pilots is one of my favorite bands and the story and fan base behind them is really touching. The moment the lights went out and the crowd started cheering…well, I was smiling and holding back tears as I realized where I was. It was an honor to be at that show. For a lot of people, this band is not just a band, it is life-changing music and lyrics. It’s therapy, a light in the dark, a breath of fresh air in a suffocating closet. It’s a life-saver for those going through dark times. I’ve never had to rely on them in that way but I can appreciate and value their purpose in making music.

Also, they crowd-surf! Or more accurately, play their drums on top of the audience. It’s pretty cool. Next time (because obviously I have to see them again) I want to be closer to the stage and not all the way in the back. Being closer would have made this show a lot more enjoyable.

September 11 – Sir Sly, Wolf Gang @ The Hollow

Sir Sly was so exciting! This was another band I heard about a few years ago and finally got to see live. I met Landon (the singer) afterwards and he was such a sweetheart. Great band, and being front row was pretty cool.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Sir Sly. Photo by e.b.

November 15 – Vacationer, St. Lucia @ The Hollow

December 15 – Young the Giant, Cage the Elephant @ Mesa Amphitheatre

Funny story. I had tickets to see Young the Giant in Saratoga Springs, about 30 minutes outside of Albany but they had to cancel their show. And Cage the Elephant came for a show in Albany as well but I didn’t think they were that great at the time. It was a few months later that I realized they were actually really good and I regretted missing their show. But when I was planning my trip to Arizona I was looking for concerts and Young the Giant and Cage the Elephant were playing a show together! Can you say lucky??

Ugly Christmas Sweater Concert. Photo by Era B.

Ugly Christmas Sweater Concert. Photo by Era B.

3 thoughts on “2014: A Year in Live Music

  1. twenty one pilots live is a life changer, for sure haha I’m seeing them for the 5th time on Tuesday and can’t wait! I loved what you had to say about them.

    Like

Leave a Comment

