Don’t Look Away, Part Two: Stay Humble

Standard

I think about this a lot. How some of us have so much and others have so little. By “have” I mean material possessions, health and health care, jobs, a roof over their head and food to keep them full.

I recently watch an amazing New York Times video profiling a ambulance worker fighting Ebola in Monrovia. The images in that video are raw, scary and 100% a reality that I can’t imagine living in. Families who live in stone huts. Villages with no running water. Women burying their relatives stricken with Ebola.

Something as simple as a hearty meal in my house or my warm bed after a long day make me very grateful and spark one thought, always: I do not take this for granted. I never have and I hope I never will.

Stay humble, folks.

Leave a Comment

