Meet a Stranger: Stephanie Azzopardi

Standard

meet a stranger (2)

Stephanie is here to help you…and herself. Her blog is a jackpot of inspiring and helpful posts and tips about the post-grad life. It’s tough out there, especially for a journalism graduate, but what Stephanie brings to the table is undeniable positivity and hopefulness. Follow along as she navigates the world of job-hunting in the modern age from dressing your way to employment to nailing a job interview.

Name: Stephanie Azzopardi

Who are you? Steph Azzopardi: an Australian wannabe journalist and blogger

Three of your favorite things: Breakfast, writing and Veronica Mars.

What consumes your time? Work takes up a lot of my time, I work in a factory full time whilst trying to get my first paid journalism job. When I’m not at work you can usually find me working on my blog, watching really trashy reality TV or reading magazines in the sun.

If you had to choose your last meal, what would it be? Pasta, and then as much ice cream as I could eat. If it’s my last meal I may as well eat all of the carbs and fat that I want.

What keeps you sane? Catching up with my friends. I’ve found that a good balance between work life and social life is key.

What’s your favorite memory? I have a lot of favourites, but coming from a perspective of my writing, my mum comes to mind. Every time I’ve achieved something in my life, from my first written story as a 6-year-old to my university graduation, she has always been there cheering me on. My favourite memories are of when I see that she is proud. I know that’s pretty corny but it’s true

Do you have any idols or role models?

Professionally, Lisa Wilkinson is my idol. She was the editor of Australian magazines, DOLLY at 21, CLEO at 25 and is a journalist that I really admire. I’m 23 so I’ve missed the boat a little to follow in her footsteps, however if I can achieve half of what she has in my career I will be happy.

In my day to day life I really admire my friends and family who have worked hard, sacrificed a lot and had to face a lot of challenges to achieve their goals. They push me to keep working hard at achieving mine.

Oh and when I was younger I kind of wanted to be JK Rowling when I grew up.

What’s on your bucket list? I want to write a book and travel the world.

Your online homes:

Poor Girl’s Modern Life, a blog about my journey as an unemployed journalist: www.poorgirlsmodernlife.com

Twitter: @StephAzzopardi

A question from the previous featured blogger: How and why did you begin blogging? What aspect of blogging most appeals to you? 

I graduated from university last year and after 6 months of not being able to get a paid journalism job I decided I needed to do something. I wanted to start a blog to keep my writing skills sharp and to have an online presence that may attract potential employers. I also wanted to sharpen my job hunting skills as obviously mine were pretty lacklustre. That’s how the idea for Poor Girl’s Modern Life formed.

The thing that I like most about blogging is that my blog is completely my voice. It’s all me, all of my dorky jokes and ideas are on the screen, uncensored. For every other assignment or publication that I have written for I have had to write to a certain style and write about a certain topic. It’s very freeing to write whatever and however you like.

A question you’d like to ask the next featured blogger: Who in the world would you most like to have dinner with, living or dead and why?

 

If you’d like to be featured, shoot me an email at erawrites@gmail.com. I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Comment

