Meet a Stranger: Emily Cardwell

Standard

Emily has “lived among the cornfields” in a small Midwestern town her entire life but now she’s a sophomore in college and through her blog she writes about the ups and downs of small town living, of being an English and History major, of having male relatives who don’t believe in feminism and one of my favorites, the ups and downs of running 😉

There’s something for everyone (even cat lovers!).

Name: Emily Cardwell

Who are you? I’m an introverted college student with a passion for the written word. I’m also a runner, a book-smeller, and of course, a blogger!

Three of your favorite things: Beaches, ice cream (particularly cookies ‘n’ cream), and books.

What consumes your time? Well, during the school year, I’m busy with homework and paper-writing (tons of paper-writing – I’m an English and history major). But this summer, I’ve been working, spending time with family and friends, reading all the Jane Austen and F. Scott Fitzgerald that I can, and (attempting) to do some writing of my own here and there.

If you had to choose your last meal, what would it be? Pierogies with lots of sour cream, broccoli (I really like broccoli, which is weird, apparently), and a giant tub of ice cream.

What keeps you sane? Lots of things, really. I tend to be a very anxious person, so I’ve developed all kinds of coping mechanisms. The three main ones are journaling, listening to music, and running. 

What’s your favorite memory? This one’s tricky, but I think this is one of them: It was the first week of college and I was walking back from class. My school has lots of trees and flowers so I was looking at those and soaking in the sunshine and all of a sudden, I thought, “I can’t imagine that I’ll ever be unhappy here.” Of course, my freshman year had just as many downs as ups, but whenever I’m feeling badly at school, I like to go back to that memory and tap into the joy I felt in that moment.

Do you have any idols or role models? I don’t think I have one person who’s constantly my role model, as we’re all human and we all make mistakes. But when I see someone do something admirable, I’ll take note of it and try to incorporate that spirit into my own life somehow.

What’s on your bucket list? I want to travel to Italy, write a book (or three), live in a city, find a career that I love, get a cat and dog named Sherlock and Watson, and have a family.

Your online homes: My blog (cardwords.wordpress.com) and Twitter (follow me @cardwords)

A question from the previous featured blogger: If your personality was a country, what country would it be and why? Well, the only foreign country I’ve visited is Canada, so I don’t have personal experiences with many places outside the United States. But my friend and I are big fans of BBC’s Sherlock and we’ve decided that we’re basically Sherlock and Watson, so my personality might be described as British!

A question you’d like to ask the next featured blogger:  How and why did you begin blogging? What aspect of blogging most appeals to you?

 

If you’d like to be featured, shoot me an email at erawrites@gmail.com. I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Comment

