Meet a Stranger: Riahta

Standard

One thing I like about Riahta’s blog is that her posts are fun. She writes about everything – her life, music, opinions on social and cultural issues, inner musings, books and movies. Here are a few of my favorites: the ultimate study playlist, 10 childhood books you’ve probably forgotten about it, 10 foreign films that every film enthusiast should watch.

She also has a really cool series called “Getting Personal” where she finds unsigned singers/musicians/bands and interviews them on their creative process. There’s a new post every Friday so take a look because you might discover some good tunes.

Name: Riahta. I thought a pseudonym would make me unique, don’t ask.

Who are you? I’m a halfie: part Indonesian and part British. I drink a lot of tea. I dance with myself sometimes.

Three of your favorite things: Sleep. Any TV series with comedy and a terrible soapy dramatic plot line, you know, the stuff that makes you gasp. And tea, preferably Earl Grey.

What consumes your time? Right now, it would be Revenge. That television show has taken over my life. But other than that, I just moved house and I’m studying counseling and family therapy, but the dream is to get to Uni again to do English Lit.

If you had to choose your last meal, what would it be? An Indonesian dish my aunt makes: rendang with fried rice. Rendang is basically a spicy beef dish. So good.

What keeps you sane? Sanity is boring. But I do find splurging my money to fly to Bali lifts my depression. Try it sometime. Technology fasts are just awesome, no more baby shower pictures blocking up your news feed. Paradise.

What’s your favorite memory? I have lots and lots of blanks in my memory but it might have to be the time my Dad accepted my apology of ten years and now we’ve come such a long way.

Do you have any idols or role models? There’s no one I idolize really. I sometimes wish I could’ve met Audrey Hepburn, but that’s more of an obsession. God would have to be my biggest role model because He’s brought me so far. Oh, and maybe Lena Dunham, she’s cool.

What’s on your bucket list? Travel, just everywhere. Going on a safari. Publish a book. Make an album, even if it’s only for me and a few friends. Write my Mum’s memoir, because it’d be a doozy.

Your online homes: For my music https://soundcloud.com/vintagebears and my blog http://shapelesstruth.wordpress.com/

A question from the previous featured blogger: “If you were king/queen for a day – that’s an entire day – what pyjamas would you wear before going to sleep and leaving your kingdom behind? Silk. Everything. Silk shirt, silk bottoms, silk socks. Just silk.

A question you’d like to ask the next featured blogger:  If your personality was a country, what country would it be and why?

 

If you’d like to be featured, shoot me an email at erawrites@gmail.com. I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Comment

