Meet a Stranger: Amelia

Standard

Amelia is an English and Creative Writing graduate and her blog is her own little world of stories and book reviews, a place to share her work and interact with others. And she really loves writing 150-word stories. One of them was even published! Anything can happen when you join Writing 101. Although Amelia has only been blogging for a couple of months she’s already leaving her mark on the community of writers we have here.

Name: Amelia

Age: 21

Who are you? It depends who you ask. But generally I am a lifelong writer and a recent Creative Writing graduate from England. I’m the kind of person who hated writing essays during university, but now writes them for fun without realising!

Three of your favorite things: My cat (obviously!), my old and cranky laptop, and pizza. Always pizza!

What consumes your time? I’m just your usual writing graduate with all the ideas but none of the motivation, writing merely to keep herself sane! I work in a pet shop a few hours a week and I’m a freelance copyeditor. But otherwise I’m often outside, cycling or walking, or inside, contributing to my blog. Sometimes I even play video games as procrastination, but we don’t talk about that.

If you had to choose your last meal, what would it be? I’m not much of a foodie, so probably something simple like macaroni cheese with extra cheese on top and a slice of pizza on the side. I can dream, right?

What keeps you sane? As mentioned earlier, writing is very much therapeutic. It’s nice to have something to do, something to concentrate on, whenever life doesn’t seem to be going your way. I have a few creative projects on the go right now that I seek out whenever jobhunting and growing up gets too much!

What’s your favorite memory? Probably my 18th birthday! My mother made me a Very Hungry Caterpillar cake and I was taken out for two meals overall with everyone in my little dysfunctional family present. It was also the day Prince William and Kate Middleton got married, but again, we don’t talk about that. *grumbles something about stealing my thunder*

Do you have any idols or role models? Jodi Picoult and Khaled Hosseini are my favourite authors, with both contributing to my own need to pursue writing.

What’s on your bucket list? I really want to visit Venice, simply because of the first few levels in Tomb Raider 2 (nostalgia!). I also want to have one of my novels published traditionally, and meet either Ben or Jerry of the ice cream fame. (Okay, maybe I am a foodie…)

Your online homes: My blog is http://ameliagroves.wordpress.com/, and you can follow me on Twitter here https://twitter.com/AGrovesWriter. 🙂

A question from the previous featured blogger: “If you were offered a place on Mars, what prized possession would you take with you and why? It’s not my prized possession, but a flag. Then I’d stand on Mars and say “I claim this planet in the name of the Earth!” in my best Daffy Duck voice. …But in all seriousness, I’d probably take my teddy bear, Pudding. Since I was around eight or nine that bear has come almost everywhere with me… family holidays, weeks away to my grandparents’, university… it’d only be right he came with me to Mars!

A question you’d like to ask the next featured blogger: If you were king/queen for a day – that’s an entire day – what pyjamas would you wear before going to sleep and leaving your kingdom behind?

 

If you’d like to be featured, shoot me an email at erawrites@gmail.com.

I’d love to hear from you!

One thought on “Meet a Stranger: Amelia

  1. Pingback: Monthly Roundup (July) | Putting Words Together

Leave a Comment

