Meet a Stranger: Tempest Rose

Standard

Tempest Rose is not just a mother, a student and a bacon ice cream fan. She’s a strong person and survivor. She inspires other bloggers enough to be nominated for a Most Influential Blogger Award. Through her essays, poetry and opinion pieces we get a glimpse into her life and if you’re interested, the best place to start to get to know her is her very descriptive and informative About Me page.

Name: Tempest Rose

Who are you? I’m a walking contradiction, an activist, a mess, amazing. I’m a screw-up trying to make a difference.

Three of your favorite things: Books (reading them or writing them/in them). Food (ice cream and bacon, preferably — especially combined). Sleep. And a bonus fourth because I feel like a horrible parent when I don’t add him: my son.

What consumes your time? My son, writing, and sleep.. mostly (in the summer — in the fall/winter/spring I take college classes). I have a bunch of random hobbies as well, and I switch from one to the other frequently. I also tend to get into far too many heated online debates.

If you had to choose your last meal, what would it be? Bacon Ice Cream.

What keeps you sane? I’m pretty convinced I’m not. Though, I don’t think anyone is, really. But lately more than ever my mental health has been quite questionable. The things that keep me going are writing and sleep. The thing that keeps me focused is my son.

What’s your favorite memory? Just one? Actually my memory is pretty bad (which isn’t a good thing for a memoir writer). Um, I feel like I should say the day my son was born, but that day pretty much sucked. Sadly, most of my best memories were during my active addiction days, and they’re hazy at the moment. Currently, I’d say every time my son does something awesome (which is frequently), but there are too many actual memories to list.

Do you have any idols or role models? Honestly, not really. At first I was going to say anyone who advocates/advocated for equality, acceptance, and bettering the world, but even most of those people have at least one deal-breaking view extremely different from my own. But I do admire the people who never gave up, and those who were able to make a difference. Augusten Burroughs is pretty rad, too.

What’s on your bucket list? I don’t really have a bucket list. I don’t like the idea of saying “I want to do all of this before I die,” because you never know when you’re going to die and I’d rather die happy and fulfilled than feeling like I missed out on something. There are a million things I’d jump at the chance to do, but I wouldn’t say they’re on my bucket list — they’re just things I’ll do if I ever can. (However, I will say that I want to successfully publish a novel and see my son grow up.)

Your online homes: nonsenseshenanigans.com (my WordPress blog). All of my other social media sites are linked to there, but I’m not as active on them.

A question from the previous featured blogger: “If you could give one sentence of advice to one other person, what would you say and to whom would you say it?”  Think; above all else, think, before the whole world forgets how.

A question you’d like to ask the next featured blogger: What is the main thing you dislike about the world, and how would you change it? (And are you trying to change it?)

 

If you’d like to be featured, shoot me an email at erawrites@gmail.com. I’d love to hear from you!

9 thoughts on “Meet a Stranger: Tempest Rose

  1. Gah! I JUST realized I missed part of the previous featured Stranger’s question: “and to whom would you give it [the advice] to?”

    If anyone reads this, everyone. I would give that advice to everyone. And if I HAD to pick one person, it would be the most influential person in the world (who would share it) so they could spread it to everyone else.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Meet a Stranger and Font Poll « Nonsense & Shenanigans

  3. Pingback: Virtual Blog Tour | Nonsense & Shenanigans

Leave a Comment

