Music Monday: My Exit on WEXT

Standard
I really like duos, huh?

Clockwise from left: Midi Matilda, Tegan and Sara, Langhorne Slim & Bad Books

Every Monday Albany’s local WEXT 97.7 lets a listener program an hour of music and this week I had the chance to share my favorites. The best part of this was putting together a playlist. Check out my picks and let me know what songs you’d include in your own playlist.

1. Restless by Langhorne Slim

Langhorne Slim was the very first show I went to in Albany in 2012. He’s an amazing live performer. His acoustic sets are just as electrifying as his boot-stomping, alt-folk dance anthems.

2. Everybody Knows by John Legend

3. Don’t You (Forget About Me) by Simple Minds

Whether you were alive in the 80s or simply loved The Breakfast Club, I think this is a song that you would eventually come to hear at least once in your lifetime. It’s pretty iconic and one of my favorites to sing along to.

4. Trojans by Atlas Genius

5. Stranger by X Ambassadors

X Ambassadors is still a new band but they’ve already been featured on an Eminem song and they’ve been playing sold out headlining shows. Dan Reynolds, frontman of Imagine Dragons, co-wrote this song with them.

6. Move by Pacific Air

Their entire album, Stop Talking, could be your potential summer soundtrack. Go check them out.

7. Low Frames by Titanics

Titanics is chillwave and dream pop and just plain good. “Low Frames” is one of my favorites from their Soft Treasure album. This song is infectious. I never tire of hearing it.

8. Take Me To Church by Hozier

9. Day Dream by Midi Matilda

Midi Matilda is a band from the San Francisco Bay Area. They describe themselves as indie-electro-pop and this song created a mini sensation on YouTube and music blogs in 2011 when it came out. If you ever have a chance to see them live, don’t pass it up. They put on a fun and energetic show.

10. Mind Over Matter by Young the Giant

11. It Never Stops by Bad Books

This duo has beautiful songs. I can’t decide what I like more — their lyrics or their music. Bad Books is Kevin Devine and Andy Hull from indie rock band Manchester Orchestra.

12. I Was A Fool by Tegan and Sara

Nearly seven years ago, my best friend introduced me to Tegan and Sara’s music and I’ve been a fan ever since. This song is from their latest and seventh album, Heartthrob, which has a 80s pop feel to it. It’s a big stray from their indie roots but regardless the change is a welcome and very successful step in their career.

13. Modern Jesus by Portugal. The Man

14. Fluorescent Adolescence by Arctic Monkeys

15. Helplessness Blues by Fleet Foxes

Leave a Comment

