Tales of a Global Citizen

Standard
I’ve moved 14 times and lived in five countries. I don’t have a childhood home. I didn’t grow up with the same twenty kids from kindergarten to high school. I’ll never get to give people a tour of my home town and point out all the places my friends and I used to hang out. Those places don’t exist for me.

But I wouldn’t change a thing. I’ve never envied people their stable and secure childhoods, living in one place first grade to senior year.

Truth is I wish everyone could have had a childhood like mine. I wish you could have been at my prom in Italy at a restaurant that overlooked the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius – the same volcano that destroyed Pompeii. I wish you could have gone on school trips that took you to Germany and Rome and not the local museum or zoo. I wish you could have gone to preschool in Paris and learned fluent French. I wish you could have taken a family trip to Montreal instead of spending another summer in the same old town.

But maybe your routine is your comfort. I can relate to that. I had routines two or three years in a row until I had to uproot and find comfort in the next new place. The only constant being my family, there with me through each new city.

Some people crave stability but that’s never been me. I have places to see, bags to pack and memories to make. And if anyone tries to slow me down, all I have to say is: my life’s been too interesting to stop now.

“Travel. As much as you can. As far as you can. As long as you can. Life’s not meant to be lived in one place.”

17 thoughts on “Tales of a Global Citizen

  1. I noticed you used the tag military brat so I assume that is why you moved so much. True? I was also a military brat, but I had a different experience than you. I hated moving so much. I married in 1971. We bought a house in Seattle in 1973 and I’ve lived there ever since. I love that stability. BUT…….. I’ve also traveled to India 24 or 25 times since 1990!

    Like

  2. I’m sorry about all my commenting. My phone won’t let me like posts which is aggravating. But all I wanted to say was how much I relate to your post. I’ve always been moving countries since I was small. Do you find it hard to connect to people/friends?

    Like

    • Your comments are very welcome! Truthfully, it depends. I found my best friends in high school in Italy, now because of college we are scattered all around the US and the world but we still keep in touch. Social media and texting make it very easy. I just find it hard to connect to people in general. I don’t like wasting my time on people that won’t be there for me in the long run. What about you?

      Like

      • I’m a bit awkward with people to be honest. It’s hard connecting and similarly, I don’t waste my energy on people who won’t have my back in the long run. I haven’t jumped on the Twitter wagon yet.. but yeah, social media is a godsend for my relatives in Indonesia and Britain.

        Like

Leave a Comment

