2013: A Year in Live Music

Standard
Langhorne Slim at Upstate Concert Hall

Langhorne Slim at Upstate Concert Hall (photo by e.b.)

2013 was an amazing year for music here in Albany. Several times I couldn’t believe my luck when I heard what bands were coming which leads me to the first concert of that year…

February 22 – Tegan and Sara @ Upstate Concert Hall

They are one of my all-time favorite bands. My mouth fell open in pure shock when I saw the announcement for their local upcoming show. My hands shook as I texted some close friends the exciting news. The concert was amazing. They were perfect. It’s the usual star-struck fan experience. Being able to sing along to every single song while your favorite band plays a mere few feet away from you is an experience I hope everyone gets to have one day.

February 24 – Whitehorse @ Valentine’s

February 26 – Tour Odyssey: Oh No Fiasco, Midi Matilda, Shiny Toy Guns & The Dirty Heads

This is where I first heard and fell in love with Midi Matilda. Check out their song “Day Dreams”.

May 8 – Bad Books @ The Hollow

They are so good. Listen to “It Never Stops”. It’s the best.

Bad Books at The Hollow

Bad Books at The Hollow (photo by e.b.)

May 17 – 10 Years @ Upstate Concert Hall

June 6 – Seawolf @ Valentine’s

June 14 – Atlas Genius @ Bayou Cafe

My brother and I met the lead singer afterwards. Not only is he talented but he’s also incredibly friendly.

September 7 – Mayer Hawthorne @ Empire State Plaza

September 28 – Crystal Fighters & Portugal the Man @ Pearl Palooza

October 31 – Langhorne Slim & the Law @ Upstate Concert Hall

This was my second time seeing Langhorne Slim and I’ll continue to go to his shows every chance I get.

Leave a Comment

